The Government of Canada applies, since October 2018, safeguard measures to imports of heavy plate and stainless steel wire. The subject countries are all countries except the United States, Mexico, Chile, Israel, Korea, Colombia, Honduras, Panama, Peru and all countries benefitting from the General Preferential Tariff.

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal was directed to conduct a third inquiry regarding requests for exclusion from the final safeguard measures.

The Tribunal received a request for exclusion of certain stainless steel wire from one company. The Tribunal recommended that the request be denied.

For additional information see Safeguard Inquiry No. GC-2018-001-E3