The Government of Canada is consulting Canadians on negotiations for possible accession of new members to the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP).

The Agreement entered into force for Canada, Australia, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore on December 30, 2018, and for Vietnam on January 14, 2019. For the remaining signatories (Brunei, Chile, Malaysia, and Peru), the CPTPP will enter into force 60 days after they have completed their domestic ratification procedures.

In particular, the Canadian Government welcomes views regarding economies that have publicly announced their own consultations or studies on potential CPTPP accession, notably South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and the United Kingdom

Interested parties are invited to submit their views on the potential accession of new members to the CPTPP, including specific interests, priorities and potential sensitivities.

Link: Public consultation: Future accession negotiations of the CPTPP